skip to Main Content

Instructor of the Year

C.E. “Buzz” Buzalsky
Golden Achievement Award Recipient

The OFIA Instructor of the Year Award is presented to the fire service instructor deemed to have had the greatest positive impact on Oregon fire service training during the calendar year preceding the annual conference.
The President of OFIA, by January 31 of each year, appoint the OFIA Instructor of the Year Selection Committee. This committee shall consist of two (2) life members and three (3) active OFIA members at large. This five (5) member committee shall have at least two (2) new members each year. Each regional training association, or active OFIA member may submit to the President, on or before March 1, a candidate for the OFIA Instructor of the Year.  To nominate someone for instructor of the year use go here and download the nomination form.

Past Recipients

2012 Tom Crowder Clackamas Fire
2011 Tim McLaren Crooked River Fire and Rescue
2010 Shawn Morgan Corvallis Fire Department
2009 Michael Kinkade Forest Grove Fire and Rescue
2008 Sam Phillips Hillsboro Fire & Rescue
2007 Jim Whelan Stanfield Fire Department
2006 Tim Dietz Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue
2005 John Oliver Clackamas Co. Fire District #1
2004 Don Willis Sun River Fire Department
2003 Gene Fisher Chemeketa Community College
2002 Era Horton DPSST
2001 Rod Smith Lane County Fire District #1
2000 Emmitt Cornford La Grande Fire Department
1999 George Jamieson DPSST
1998 Dan Riblett Klamath County Fire District No.1
1997 Mike Warren Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue
1996 Dale Kamrath Lane County Fire District No. 1
1995 Todd Reynolds Pendleton Fire Department
1994 Randy Wells Pendleton Fire Department
1993 Bob Cambas BPSST
1992 Jim Whelan Stanfield Fire Department